A Very Incomplete Reading List for 2016

cosynight

Cosy Night by Kim Parkhurst

I was in two minds about setting reading goals.  After all, I like to read for enjoyment and relaxation, and to have my world expanded.  I don’t like to feel that I am being ‘compelled’ to meet a deadline when I read, and so having a list might take away the fun in reading for me.

But as I came across new book titles and reviews, I found my love of reading re-ignited, and realized how very many good books there are still out there for me to discover!  So I decided to write a list of books I hope to read this year.  Hey, I’m flexible! If I find my list too restrictive, I will simply adjust  : )

So, keeping in mind that some of the genres overlap, here is my partial list of books for 2016:

Vintage or 1920’s-1930’s Fiction:

The Citadel by A J Cronin

A Tangled Web by LM Montgomery

The Stars Look Down by AJ Cronin

Shadows on the Rock by Willa Cather

The Inimitable Jeeves by P.G. Wodehouse

New or Recent Releases:

The Song of Hartford Hall by Natasha Solomon (historical fiction)

Coal River by Ellen Marie Wiseman (historical fiction)

The Lake House by Kate Morton (fiction)

The Painter’s Daughter by Julie Klassen (Christian fiction)

Six Tudor Queens: Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen by Alison Weir

Harbour Street by Ann Cleeves (mystery)

The Wedding Tree by Robin Wells

Classics:

Far from the Madding Crowd – Hardy

Persuasion by Jane Austen

Les Miserables by Victor Hugo

Doctor Thorne by Anthony Trollope

One of Ours by Willa Cather

Mainstream/contemporary authors:

A Daughter’s Tale – Mary Soames

The Last Midwife – Sandra Dallas

Below the Salt – Thomas Costain

Some Luck by Jane Smiley

The Twelfth Child by Bette Lee Crosby

Homecoming by Susie Steiner

Christmas Bells by Jennifer Chiaverini

Historical fiction:

Wintercombe – Pamela Belle

The Warsaw Conspiracy by James Conroyd Martin

The Misbegotten by Katherine Webb

Blackmoore by Julianne Donaldson

The Trumpeter of Krakow by Eric P. Kelly

Sara Dane by Catherine Gaskin

The Eighth Champion of Christendom by Edith Pargeter

Csardas by Diane Pearson

Cosy Mysteries:

Cards on the Table by Agatha Christie

Mrs. Malory and the Only Good Lawyer by Hazel Holt

The Tiger in the Smoke by Margery Allingham

The White Cottage Mystery by Margery Allingham

Christian Fiction:

The Memory Weaver by Jane Kirkpatrick

Chateau of Secrets – Melanie Dobson

Relaxing, Light or Comfort Reads:

Jane of Lantern Hill by L.M. Montgomery

Light a Penny Candle by Maeve Binchy

Cotillion by Georgette Heyer

The Christmas Angel by Jane Maas

Theology:

Cold-Case Christianity: A Homicide Detective Investigates the Claims of the Gospels by J. Warner Wallace

In Defense of Sanity: The Best Essays of G.K. Chesterton by G.K. Chesterton

The Cost of Discipleship by Dietrich Bonhoeffer

Nonfiction/Memoir:

The Selected Letters of Willa Cather

As It Was and World Without End by Helen Thomas

The Magic Apple Tree by Susan Hill

The Wives of Los Alamos by TaraShea Nesbit

Biography:

Dorothea’s War: The Diaries of a First World War Nurse by Dorothea Crewdson

The Inklings: C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, Charles Williams, and Their Friends by Humphrey Carpenter

My History by Antonia Fraser

Margaret Beaufort: Mother of the Tudor Dynasty by Elizabeth Norton

Thomas Hardy: The World of his Novels by J.B. Bullen

Clementine: The Life of Mrs. Winston Churchill by Sonia Purnell

My Story, My Song: Mother-Daughter Reflections on Life and Faith  by Lucimarian Roberts

About Theresa

I live in an old farmhouse in upstate New York (no, *not* the big city!) in the country with my family, two dogs, two calves, and two horses. I love to cross stitch, quilt, read, and look at needlework blogs :) and I love coffee *and* tea!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

