Reading

homelibrary  It is a cold Spring day here, windy and a bit rainy.  A perfect day for reading!

I have been reading so much of D.E. Stevenson and Elizabeth Goudge lately (in case you haven’t noticed… : )  My old favorites!  But I’m still enjoying newer historical fiction books and mysteries, also.

I can’t imagine a man really enjoying a book and reading it only once.”  C.S. Lewis

There is a funny scene in “Mrs. Tim Flies Home”.   Hester has moved to a new village, and she visits the local library for the first time.  The librarian is very enthusiastic to meet someone new in the village and recommends all kinds of books to Hester, except the one that has *really* caught Hester’s eye, a new mystery.  She finally *does* end up with the book of her choice, (“The Body in the Cupboard”).  It is fun to read about how tastes differ, and see how hesitant Hester is to admit that all she really wants is a good light read!

I love it when I can identify with a character or situation in a novel.  It makes it more ‘human’ when I read about someone having similar struggles or thoughts that I have had!  I suppose that is why I enjoy Stevenson and Goudge so much… no pretensions in their writing.  Just good old-fashioned transparency.

You think your pain and your heartbreak are unprecedented in the history of the world, but then you read.” ― James Baldwin

May you find many good books to read this Spring!

What she was finding also was how one book led to another, doors kept opening wherever she turned and the days weren’t long enough for the reading she wanted to do.” ― Alan Bennett, The Uncommon Reader

 

About Theresa

I live in an old farmhouse in upstate New York (no, *not* the big city!) in the country with my family, two dogs, two calves, and two horses. I love to cross stitch, quilt, read, and look at needlework blogs :) and I love coffee *and* tea!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reading

  1. Titanic Buff says:

    Oh my gosh. All those books. ❤

Leave a Reply

