Winter Time

Owlathome Here’s to warm and cosy firesides on cold winter nights!  Here’s to winter reading, bowls of soup and cups of hot tea or chocolate.  Here’s to favorite authors, long absorbing reads, old friends we once again pick up off the shelf to spend a stormy night with.

Old friends, like the photo (at left).  Arnold Lobel’s “Owl at Home” was one of the very first chapter books my kids learned to read all by themselves!

Here’s to the New Year (yes it’s still January….for a few more days!)  February is just around the corner.

My January reading has not gone well.  I have read three books so far, and have mixed feelings about them.  I will be posting about that in a future blog entry.

Today I picked up a tried-and-true author for me.  I was in the mood for something that wouldn’t challenge my brain too much, but ‘just enough’… for realistic characters with just a few personality quirks, for good writing (without being too wordy), and for a surprise ending.

Yup.  You guessed it.  Agatha Christie fits the bill perfectly!  Her mysteries are solid, she never fails to surprise me (yet she knows her characters inside and out), and her plots are believable without being too graphic (I am not in the mood on January evenings to be caught by sudden disgust or graphic scenes in my cosy reading time.)

Here’s to Agatha Christie!

“That’s very nice!” said Cora Lansquenet with real appreciation.  “An income!  How much?”

“I – er – can’t say exactly at present.  Death duties, of course, will be heavy and – ”

“Can’t you give me any idea?”

Mr. Entwhistle realized that Cora must be appeased.  “Possibly somewhere in the neighborhood of three to four thousand a year.”

“Goody!” said Cora.  “I shall go to Capri.”

              From “After the Funeral” by Agatha Christie

About Theresa

I live in an old farmhouse in upstate New York (no, *not* the big city!) in the country with my family, two dogs, two calves, and two horses. I love to cross stitch, quilt, read, and look at needlework blogs :) and I love coffee *and* tea!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winter Time

  1. Clara says:

    My January reading was not spectacular, either. I feel like I spent too much time thinking about books and not enough time reading. Oh well. February will be the month that I tackle my ever-growing stack of books!

Leave a Reply

