My Year of Reading

According to my Goodreads stats, this is what I read in 2014.  Now, you and I both know I read much more than this (ok, maybe *you* don’t know…but *I* do!) However these are the books  that I both read and wrote reviews on last year!

Which were my favorites? well, let’s see.

I really liked “The Winthrop Woman”.  Just about anything Anya Seton writes is going to be good.  I liked Peter Ackroyd’s “Tudors” for top non-fiction.  McCullough’s “John Adams” was a re-read for me, but of course, excellent.   I really liked Nancy Turner’s “My Name is Resolute” for historical fiction with Barbara Mutch’s “The Housemaid’s Daughter” a close second.

Of course Sayers (yes.  *That* Sayers.  Good old Dorothy!) is right up there in the mystery category, although Margery Allingham comes close in the cosy mysteries for me.

Some of these authors were new to me (although they may have been very familiar to those in the book-blogging world), others were old favorites.  Some more than met my expectations, others didn’t quite make it….but if I bothered to write a review, they were worth the read regardless (and that is why Goodreads has them on my list).

Alan Bradley has a new ‘Flavia de Luce’ mystery out which I have yet to discover, and Jamie Langston Turner also has a new book out that I am anxious to get to this year.

We lost two of my favorite authors in 2014, Mary Steward and P.D. James.  I wish I knew how to pay tribute to such worthy writers!  They have both provided many, many hours of enjoyable reading.

For ‘comfort’ or ‘easy reads’ (books I reach for when I want something that won’t tax my brain too much, but I know I will enjoy), I always reach for D.E. Stevenson or Elisabeth Goudge.  Will that change in 2015?  Don’t know yet.  Either way, I am looking forward to another good year of reading! (and in this chilly winter weather, have been delving in already! how about you?)

Happy reading!

John Adams
The Quiet Gentleman
Major Pettigrew's Last Stand
Sprig Muslin
The Plum Tree
The Scapegoat
The Toll-Gate
The Shoemaker's Wife
Speaking from Among the Bones (Flavia de Luce, #5 )
Lost Lake
A Week in Winter
The Winthrop Woman
The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches (Flavia de Luce, #6)
The Chalice (Joanna Stafford, #2)
Somerset
The Vicar's Wife (Tales from Goswell)
The Documents in the Case
Still Glides the Stream
Tudors (The History of England, #2)
Mayflower: A Story of Courage, Community, and War
April Lady
Suncatchers
The Forgotten Garden
Call The Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times
The Headmistress of Rosemere (Whispers on the Moors, #2)
Arabella
Dumb Witness (Hercule Poirot, #16)
A Place of Secrets
Motherland
Snow on the Tulips
The Housemaid's Daughter
My Name Is Resolute
Look to the Lady (Albert Campion Mystery #3)
The Reluctant Midwife: A Hope River Novel
About Theresa

I live in an old farmhouse in upstate New York (no, *not* the big city!) in the country with my family, two dogs, two calves, and two horses. I love to cross stitch, quilt, read, and look at needlework blogs :) and I love coffee *and* tea!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Year of Reading

  1. CGrace says:

    Hey-This is a great list…even if this was all you read, this is an impressive list of books! Happy reading in 2015!

Leave a Reply

