Reading for 2015

cosy roomI am busy making my list of 50 books I want to read this year!  I have never set goals in my reading before; I just always preferred to exercise freedom in choosing what to read, rather than to put myself under pressure with a ‘list’.  However this year I found that there are so many books I want to read, that it might be a better option for me to set some reading goals.
I don’t know yet of course what 2015 will bring, but here is my list so far, of books that I would like to read this year.  It’s a bit of an ambitious list, and I don’t know if I will be able to stick to it, or find myself abandoning it once I hit the library a few times and get caught up with a glossy new hardcover!
To give myself some leeway I am leaving myself room with about fourteen or fifteen books (to make up a total of 50 this year), that I haven’t listed, so that I can do a spur-of-the moment choice.  But for what it’s worth for now (and without taking myself too seriously), here is my To-Read-in-2015 List:
Classics: 
Les Miserables by Victor Hugo
Phineas Finn by Anthony Trollope
Far from the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy
The Wild Swan by Margaret Kennedy
Historical Fiction:
False Colours by Georgette Heyer
Mistress of the Monarchy by Alison Weir
The Spring of the Ram by Dorothy Dunnett
The American Heiress by Daisy Goodwin
Blackmoore by Julianne Donaldson
We That are Left by Juliet Greenwood
A Quilt for Christmas by Sandra Dallas
The Castle on the Hill by Elisabeth Goudge
Mainstream Fiction:
 
Cheerfulness Breaks In by Angela Thirkell
The Dreaming Suburb by R.F. Delderfield
Home by Marilynne Robinson
The Shape of Mercy by Susan Meissner
The Island of Doves by Kelly O’Connor McNees
To See the Moon Again by Jamie Langston Turner
The Road to Middlemarch by Rebecca Mead
Alys Always by Harriet Lane
Mystery/Suspense:
Jamaica Inn by Daphne duMaurier
The Soul of Discretion by Susan Hill
As Chimney Sweepers come to Dust – Alan Bradley
Burying the Past by Judith Cutler
Nonfiction:
When Books went to War by Molly Manning
After Elizabeth by Leanda deLisle
Jambusters by Julie Summers
Memoir/Biography:
A Vicarage Family by Noel Streatfeild
Testament of Youth by Vera Brittain
War Diaries by Ruth Cowen
As It Was and World Without End by Helen Thomas
A Croft in the Hills by Katherine Stewart
Biography:
Mary Queen of Scots by Antonia Fraser
 Writing a Life: L.M. Montgomery by Mary Rubio
About Theresa

I live in an old farmhouse in upstate New York (no, *not* the big city!) in the country with my family, two dogs, two calves, and two horses. I love to cross stitch, quilt, read, and look at needlework blogs :) and I love coffee *and* tea!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

