It’s November! What are you Reading?

(Doesn’t this room just make you want to sit down and READ??? : )

I have been so happy to see one of my favorite authors ‘rediscovered’ on some book review blogs.  It is exciting to me to see others discover an author I have loved and returned to over and over throughout the years.

Our local library, in my schooldays, had several of Elizabeth Goudge’s novels so I learned to love her early!  I started, of course, as a young reader with “The Little White Horse” and after that read just about everything she wrote.

Yes, she is sentimental… sometimes.  Some of the situations or lessons in her books are a bit idealistic for us living in the twenty-first century!  But she can also be surprisingly insightful as she writes about contemporary issues and choices within the relationship of marriages and children (especially since Goudge never married or had children of her own).  Her “Green Dolphin Street”, though long, is so historically interesting and her characters have struggles that many could identify with today!  I learned so much about New Zealand, the British Navy, and the Channel islands from reading this book.

Take a look at this passage from “Green Dolphin Street”:

“Then he came nearer, and with a sudden, sickening sense of shock she saw that ten years of pioneer life had changed him almost out of recognition.  Little of his great beauty remained with him, and his elegance and look of breeding had entirely vanished.  He looked ten years older than his actual age….

She shut her eyes and a trembling shook her.  She was not an inexperienced woman, and she knew in that moment exactly what her life with this man was going to be.”

(Does that passage alone not want the reader to continue, to find out how this dilemma is going to be played out in the book?)

If you haven’t tried Elizabeth Goudge, give her a whirl!  Try “The Rosemary Tree”, “The Dean’s Watch”, or “The Scent of Water” and see if you have not also found an author you will turn to again and again.

Happy reading…and happy November!

About Theresa

I live in an old farmhouse in upstate New York (no, *not* the big city!) in the country with my family, two dogs, two calves, and two horses. I love to cross stitch, quilt, read, and look at needlework blogs :) and I love coffee *and* tea!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s November! What are you Reading?

  1. hopeinbrazil says:

    Yes, it was a happy day when I discovered Goudge! Island Magic is the last book I read of hers and I enjoyed it so much.

  2. CGrace says:

    Oh, Elizabeth Goudge is fantastic! My favorite is the, kind of hard to find, Linnets and Valerians. A little splash of magic, children having adventures, and perfect writing, of course. I think that it was meant to be a children’s chapter book originally, but I certainly enjoyed it! Have you read it?

  3. I have yet to read Linnets and Valerians! I was happy when I saw it republished, so I have to get moving on that one! Glad to hear you like Goudge too. She had quite a gift!

Leave a Reply

