I Feel Like Reading!

“Yes, when I get big and have my own home, no plush chairs and lace curtains for me. And no rubber plants. I’ll have a desk like this in my parlor and white walls and a clean green blotter every Sunday night and a row of shining yellow pencils always sharpened for writing and a golden-brown bowl with a flower or some leaves or berries always in it and books…books..books.”
― Betty Smith, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn

“What a blessing it is to love books. Everybody must love something, and I know of no objects of love that give such substantial and unfailing returns as books and a garden.”

– Elizabeth von Arnim, The Solitary Summer

“Our library isn’t very extensive, but every book in it is a friend.”
― L.M. Montgomery, Anne’s House of Dreams

“Marianne, who had the knack of finding her way in every house to the library, however it might be avoided by the family in general, soon procured herself a book.”
― Jane Austen, Sense and Sensibility

“Books can truly change our lives: the lives of those who read them, the lives of those who write them. Readers and writers alike discover things they never knew about the world and about themselves.”
― Lloyd Alexander

“I’m a great reader that never has time to read.”
― Eudora Welty, The Ponder Heart

“I would look at the first chapter of any new novel as a final test of its merits. If there was a murdered man under the sofa in the first chapter, I read the story. If there was no murdered man under the sofa in the first chapter, I dismissed the story as tea-table twaddle, which it often really was.”
― G.K. Chesterton

“Now…in an abundant society where people have laptops, cell phones, ipods and minds like empty rooms, I still plod along with books.”
― Harper Lee

“Humanity can be roughly divided into three sorts of people – those who find comfort in literature, those who find comfort in personal adornment, and those who find comfort in food.”
― Elizabeth Goudge, Little White Horse

“When I discovered libraries, it was like having Christmas every day.”
― Jean Fritz

About Theresa

I live in an old farmhouse in upstate New York (no, *not* the big city!) in the country with my family, two dogs, two calves, and two horses. I love to cross stitch, quilt, read, and look at needlework blogs :) and I love coffee *and* tea!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

