Reading

“In this way, I was able to place my own concerns aside and curl myself up in the cocoon of somebody else’s imagination. My life was suspended – I was in neither one place nor the other.”   ― Kate Kerrigan, Ellis Island

A good novel tells us the truth about its hero; but a bad novel tells us the truth about its author.                     –Gilbert K. Chesterton

“I have been reading three books Dean lent me this week. One was like a rose garden–very pleasant, but just a little too sweet. And one was like a pine wood on a mountain–full of balsam and tang–I loved it, and yet it filled me with a sort of despair. It was written so beautifully–I can never write like that, I feel sure. And one–it was just like a pig-sty. Dean gave me that one by mistake.”                ― L.M. Montgomery, Emily Climbs

“Reading is my favourite occupation, when I have leisure for it and books to read.”    ― Anne Brontë, Agnes Grey

“I love the book. I love the feel of a book in my hands, the compactness of it, the shape, the size. I love the feel of paper. The sound it makes when I turn a page. I love the beauty of print on paper, the patterns, the shapes, the fonts. I am astonished by the versatility and practicality of The Book. It is so simple. It is so fit for its purpose. It may give me mere content, but no e-reader will ever give me that sort of added pleasure.”
― Susan Hill, Howards End Is on the Landing: A Year of Reading from Home

“Some books are so familiar that reading them is like being home again.”                                                   ― Louisa May Alcott

“I believe it’s fine to give up books even after a page; there’s so much to read in the world that will delight you, so why should you work against the grain?”          ― Hilary Mantel

I can’t imagine a man really enjoying a book and reading it only once.

–C.S. Lewis

About Theresa

I live in an old farmhouse in upstate New York (no, *not* the big city!) in the country with my family, two dogs, two calves, and two horses. I love to cross stitch, quilt, read, and look at needlework blogs :) and I love coffee *and* tea!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reading

  1. hopeinbrazil says:

    The G.K. Chesterton quote is so true! It explains why some books miss the mark of being really satisfying. The author gets too much in the way.

Leave a Reply

