Dumb Witness by Agatha Christie

Dumb Witness (Hercule Poirot, #16)Dumb Witness by Agatha Christie

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I thoroughly enjoyed this mystery! Agatha Christie keeps me guessing every time!

Who was it this time? Several family members stood to gain from the death of Dear Aunt Emily….and a servant/companion, as well! Can Hercule Poirot unravel the many possibilities, yet again?

Emily Arundell’s will was a mystery to many after her death.

“But though Miss Arundell’s death surprised no one, something else did. The provisions of her will gave rise to varying emotions, astonishment, pleasurable excitement, deep condemnation, fury, despair, anger and general gossip. For weeks and even months Market Basing was to talk of nothing else!”

Why, in the last few days and weeks of her life, did Miss Arundell suddenly change the provision of her will and cut her family out to the benefit of Miss Lawson, whom she often treated with barely concealed contempt?

I read this mystery while on vacation, and it was a fast and enjoyable read (the perfect beach read!) Once again, I found myself pleasantly surprised by the author’s clever conclusion.

“On the following morning a note arrived by hand.  It was in a rather weak, uncertain handwriting slanting very much uphill.

Dear M. Poirot,

I hear from Ellen that you were at Littlegreen House yesterday.  I shall be much obliged if you would call and see me sometime Friday.

Yours truly,

Wilhelmina Lawson”

About Theresa

I live in an old farmhouse in upstate New York (no, *not* the big city!) in the country with my family, two dogs, two calves, and two horses. I love to cross stitch, quilt, read, and look at needlework blogs :) and I love coffee *and* tea!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

