Kind Acts from Fellow Bloggers

Book and a Quilt has nominated me for a Liebster (blogger) award!

How kind of her!  here are my answers to the questions:

1.  What is the first book you remember reading?

Wow.  This goes way back, folks!  To be honest, I can’t remember *which* title it was….but I *do* remember my 2nd grade reader (a “Dick and Jane” type) that had lovely pictures of boys wearing tee shirts (often striped),and pants, and little girls with pretty dresses on, and a red wagon…and, *most* of all, a BIG cake with YELLOW frosting!

I remember telling someone (can’t remember who it was), “LOOK at THAT!  Yellow frosting!  Yellow is my favorite color!” and being very excited.

Now, if someone can make a parallel as to how this has contributed to my love of reading, I invite you to go ahead and do so!  : )

2.  What is your favorite genre of reading?

Wow.  (I tend to be a bit repetitive). 

How can I say just one?  I love fiction of all sorts.  I read non-fiction and biographies and journals but have to say, fiction is what I always look for, and historical fiction probably wins over mysteries.

3.  What book character do you think you are most like?

Oh boy.  (see, I’m not as repetitive as you may think!  I change exclamations at the drop of a hat!)

This is a hard one and a question I should probably ask my husband….ummm, never mind.  Probably not.

(sigh.) Definitely not Jo of “Little Women” fame.  *Not* Anne of Green Gables.  Not “Laura” in the Wilder (“Little House”) books.  I would love to say I am Elinor of “Sense and Sensibility” but (unfortunately), there is often not a practical bone in my body!

Elizabeth Goudge wrote in her “Joy of the Snow” autobiography that there is a character that appears in many of her novels that is tall and graceful, well-spoken, genteel, always calm, and never drops things….and that she wishes were her.  But, sadly, she is not.  : )  I do feel an affinity with Goudge though, in *wishing* I were more like several of my favorite characters, but knowing I am not!

My daughter tells me I am “Barbara Buncle” (of “Miss Buncle’s Book” fame!)  Hmmph. (well, she is a likable character but she *did* like to poke fun at her neighbors! I wonder if I am like that?)

4.  Are you part of a book club/group?  How do you feel about book clubs?

I think they are great!  we are starting one up this Fall and very much looking forward to it.  : )

5.  The most annoying book I ever read was…

??? I really don’t know.  If I can’t stick with a book for whatever reason, I just stop reading it.  I think my *least* favorite read though was required reading in high school, “The Lord of the Flies”.

6.  Did you like reading in school?

Yup!  We took one class period a week and visited the school library.  It was my favorite thing to do!  such treasures on the shelves!

7.  Where is your favorite place to read?

In bed.  With books piled up on my end table, on the floor next to me, on the bed….well, you get the picture.  : )

8.  If you could pick one fictional character to be your best friend, who would it be?

This question requires a lot of thought!  I think I am going to table this one for now and write an entire paragraph on my next blog entry about my favorite characters!

9.  Do you read seasonally?  That is, do you read lighter, beach-read books in summer and heavier books in winter?

Not really.  I am not sure how much the seasons influence my choice of genre, although sometimes I do like to find Christmassy-stories at the holiday season! I find I can be very eclectic in both my reading and timing.

10.  Can you listen to music while reading?  If so, what kind of music do you like to have as background noise?

Never listen to music while reading.  Too distracting!

Thanks for nominating me, CGrace! I enjoyed answering these questions and thinking more about books and why we read them!

About Theresa

I live in an old farmhouse in upstate New York (no, *not* the big city!) in the country with my family, two dogs, two calves, and two horses. I love to cross stitch, quilt, read, and look at needlework blogs :) and I love coffee *and* tea!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kind Acts from Fellow Bloggers

  1. CGrace says:

    I had fun reading these responses! Thanks for joining in!

Leave a Reply

