April Lady by Georgette Heyer

April Lady

An easy, entertaining read!

Lady Cardross has a problem. She has promised her husband that she will always be honest with him, especially with her expenditures (money is not a problem but her shopping can quickly get out of hand).

With gambling a family trait, is there reason for Giles Cardross to regret marrying poor Nell?

Unfortunately Nell Cardross has overlooked a bill due for a dress she purchased and she doesn’t know how to tell her husband that the Chantilly lace dress she bought has not yet been paid for…

Dysart, Nell’s brother, has been saved more than once out of his gambling debts by Lady Cardross. Will he now come to his sister’s rescue and pay her overdue bill before her husband finds her out?

“She twisted her fingers together, and managed to say, though with considerable difficulty: “Dysart, have – have you still got the – the three hundred pounds I gave you?”

“Do you want it back?” he demanded.

She nodded, her eyes fixed anxiously on his face.

‘Now we are in the basket!’ said his lordship.

Her heart sank. “I am so very sorry to be obliged to ask you!”

“My dear girl, I’d give it you this instant if I had it!” he assured her. “What is it? a gaming debt? You been playing deep, Nell?”

“No, no! It is a court dress of Chantilly lace, and I cannot – cannot! – tell Cardross!”

Dysart comes up with a scheme that is very likely, going to fail. Letty, Nell’s sister-in-law, meanwhile has fallen in love with an unsuitable man and Nell’s husband (who is Letty’s guardian), has to be the villain to put a stop to the romance.

The reader has to decide whether Giles Cardross is a tyrannical and overbearing husband, or one who is merely watching out for his family, and if Nell is a flighty wife prone to making unwise decisions.

Some twists and turns in this light read, with a splash of humor (mainly in dialogue), and although not Heyer’s best, I certainly enjoyed it!

About Theresa

I live in an old farmhouse in upstate New York (no, *not* the big city!) in the country with my family, two dogs, two calves, and two horses. I love to cross stitch, quilt, read, and look at needlework blogs :) and I love coffee *and* tea!
This entry was posted in Fiction, Regency Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to April Lady by Georgette Heyer

  1. Clara says:

    I remember that this one made me laugh. I do love a good Georgette Heyer read in the summer!

  2. What else have you read by Heyer? do you have a favorite you can recommend? I haven’t read that many by her as yet but she seems to be popular with many!

    • Clara says:

      Well…I’ve read a bunch. I avoid her historical novels because they don’t have that biting humor and, in my opinion, they’re just not as well written. Her (current for the time she was writing) mystery novels are all great, though. I think my favorite of the Regency romances are The Nonesuch and The Grand Sophy. However, they’re all really good, so I don’t think you can go wrong.

Leave a Reply

