Back from Vacation

We took a week long vacation and toured Kentucky!  Bluegrass country.  Horse farms.  Museums.  Forts.  Camping. Lots of history…. and, my daughter’s home  : )

But, we are still reading. : )

I am almost finished with Peter Ackroyd’s “Tudors”. It is *not* dry reading at all! I am enjoying his overview of England’s history and plan to continue with his first volume (since I didn’t know that there *was* a first volume until I read this one…), titled, “Foundations”.

“She (Queen Elizabeth) summoned a delegation of fifty-seven members of the Lord and Commons to Whitehall, and forbade the presence of the Speaker. It was only the queen who would talk….

“I am your anointed queen,” she told them. “I will never be constrained to do anything. I thank God I am endued with such qualities that if I were turned out of the realm in my petticoats I were able to live in any place in Christendom.”

I was surprised to find that Ackroyd was an amazingly prolific author! He is a new author to me. I am looking forward to delving into some of his other non-fiction books also.

I will be posting my review of this one soon! Meanwhile, enjoy your summer — it’s almost here! One more week until the first (official) day of summer!

About Theresa

I live in an old farmhouse in upstate New York (no, *not* the big city!) in the country with my family, two dogs, two calves, and two horses. I love to cross stitch, quilt, read, and look at needlework blogs :) and I love coffee *and* tea!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

