Summer

“Summer afternoon—summer afternoon; to me those have always been the two most beautiful words in the English language.”

                                                                                                                 ― Henry James

“No summer ever came back, and no two summers ever were alike. Times change, and people change; and if our hearts do not change as readily, so much the worse for us.”

― Nathaniel Hawthorne, The Blithedale Romance

“Those bitter sorrows of childhood!– when sorrow is all new and strange, when hope has not yet got wings to fly beyond the days and weeks, and the space from summer to summer seems measureless.”
― George Eliot, The Mill on the Floss

“In summer, the song sings itself.”

― William Carlos Williams

“The thing to do,’ I said as we gained the lane that leads to Beech Green and Fairacre, ‘is to get absolutely everything in the summer and lock it in a cupboard. Then order every scrap of food from a shop the week before Christmas and sit back and enjoy watching everyone else go mad. I’ve been meaning to do it for years.”
–  Miss Read, Village School

“Keep that red-haired girl of yours in the open air all summer and don’t let her read books until she gets more spring into her step.” This message frightened Marilla wholesomely. She read Anne’s death warrant by consumption in it unless it was scrupulously obeyed. As a result, Anne had the golden summer of her life as far as freedom and frolic went. She walked, rowed, berried, and dreamed to her heart’s content; and when September came she was bright-eyed and alert, with a step that would have satisfied the Spencervale doctor and a heart full of ambition and zest once more. “I just feel like studying with might and main,” she declared as she brought her books down from the attic. “Oh, you good old friends, I’m glad to see your honest face once more – yes, even you, geometry.”
― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

“I wonder what it would be like to live in a world where it was always June.”
― L.M. Montgomery

“…In the summer New York was the only place in which one could escape from New Yorkers…”
― Edith Wharton

“This was my only and my constant comfort. When I think of it, the picture always rises in my mind, of a summer evening, the boys at play in the churchyard, and I sitting on my bed, reading as if for life.”
― Charles Dickens, David Copperfield

“The books—the generous friends who met me without suspicion—the merciful masters who never used me ill! The only years of my life that I can look back on with something like pride… Early and late, through the long winter nights and the quiet summer days, I drank at the fountain of knowledge, and never wearied of the draught.”

― Wilkie Collins, Armadale

About Theresa

I live in an old farmhouse in upstate New York (no, *not* the big city!) in the country with my family, two dogs, two calves, and two horses. I love to cross stitch, quilt, read, and look at needlework blogs :) and I love coffee *and* tea!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer

  1. Clara says:

    What happy pictures! Isn’t summer the best?

Leave a Reply

