Thank you, Hope!

Hope nominated me for an award (what a kind thing to do!)

So, here are the answers to her questions:

1.  Drink of preference: Coffee or Tea? What kind?

BOTH!  I LOVE my morning coffee!  (and, I have learned to decrease the caffeine!)  I don’t as a rule get out to coffee shops very often, but once in while will enjoy a treat out with a friend to a local cafe for something a little more fancy than I can come up with at home (but, nothing too sweet or heavy!)

By mid-afternoon and a full morning’s work I am ready for a calmer tea-time (and a cookie or two, or some muffins or slice of a yummy quick bread like banana-nut bread, helps make the tea taste even better!)  : )
2. Describe a perfect afternoon.

Perfect afternoon #1: A Spring day (or temperatures that feel like Spring!  which, has not happened here.  Yet.)

Tea out on the lawn, lilac bushes scenting the air, seated  with my (pile of unread) books, the scent of bulbs (hyacinths! lily of the valley!) lightly wafting in a gentle breeze, and something in a basket nearby to stitch (I love my needlework samplers!)  The knowledge that there is no immediate challenge or looming crisis within the lives of my loved ones adds to the peace of the day!

Perfect afternoon #2: We are camping and I have my lawn chair placed right next to the lake with my coffee (I don’t make good tea while camping.  Just never turns out the same,) and a good book to start, probably a large volume (insert your fav. chunkster title here),  of over 500 pages that I have been looking forward to reading!


3. Who is your favorite literary hero or heroine?

Wow.  This is a hard one.  I need time to think!

I love the heroine in Betty Smith’s “Joy in the Morning”.   Not afraid to ask questions, she doesn’t consider herself as smart as her husband so she isn’t a proud soul by any means, she is naive, but she is also friendly and makes friends in unlikely places (the florist  Anthony — whom her husband disdains,  for example).  She also doesn’t let her lack of an education stop her and pursues her love of literature, and is rewarded for it.

Jo of “Little Women” is a close second.  Her love of life and meeting it head-on is something I (sadly lack and) admire.
4. What is one book that has had a lasting impact on your life?

Another question that is hard to answer because there are so many!  In my earlier years, I would have to say “How Green Was My Valley” (Richard Llewellyn).  A story of life and its hardships in a Welsh mining village, this was a book I returned to over and over again.  I also greatly enjoyed “Christy” by Catherine Marshall, and “Mrs. Mike” (Nancy Freedman).

But overall, I think the author that has had the greatest impact on me is Elizabeth Goudge.  Her writing flows for me and there are lessons I continue to find in her novels each time I return to them.
5. What is your love language?

(sigh.)  Flowers.  : )

About Theresa

I live in an old farmhouse in upstate New York (no, *not* the big city!) in the country with my family, two dogs, two calves, and two horses. I love to cross stitch, quilt, read, and look at needlework blogs :) and I love coffee *and* tea!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thank you, Hope!

  1. hopeinbrazil says:

    I loved it that you answered the questions with words AND lovely pictures. Your perfect afternoons sound heavenly.

Leave a Reply

