Sprig Muslin

Sprig MuslinSprig Muslin by Georgette Heyer

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I have been introduced to Georgette Heyer from reading very enthusiastic reviews, on several book review blogs. “Sprig Muslin” is the third Regency era novel of hers that I have read, and I am still ‘on the fence’ with her writing.

I know Heyer is a popular author and I do acknowledge her expertise using dialogue and her wit at poking fun of human personalities and character traits. However, if you are looking for complicated plots, historical development or suspense, this is not going to be it.

“Sprig Muslin” is a light read and it is one that you have to be in the mood for. It is fun, and it is entertaining, but I also have to admit that I found Amanda, the main character, at first to be frustrating and childish. Gareth has way too much patience and rescues her out of one scrape after another, even to the point of sacrificing his own physical well-being and putting himself in harm’s way (how do you spell gallant?) Amanda’s plots and escapades, all with the hope of getting her grandfather to agree to a marriage he doesn’t approve of, (how do you spell manipulative?), are a bit unbelievable, as are the reactions of those who are so taken by her beauty that they find themselves helplessly doing her bidding (how do you spell naive?)

However, as I see many folks liking this particular novel, perhaps I read it at a time when I was taking it too seriously.  I enjoy light reads, and “Sprig Muslin” is certainly worth reading. Once you get past Amanda’s frustrating behavior and can accept that eventually, she will learn her lesson, you can settle down and enjoy the story.  I would have enjoyed it more if I could have seen Hester’s character more developed. The love story was lost in the drama of consequence an,  though not a surprise, to me, was too quickly tied in at the end.

Those for what they are worth, are my criticisms, but don’t let them put you off. Read “Sprig Muslin” and see what you think, and then read some more Heyer and see how they compare (as I am going to do!)

 

About Theresa

I live in an old farmhouse in upstate New York (no, *not* the big city!) in the country with my family, two dogs, two calves, and two horses. I love to cross stitch, quilt, read, and look at needlework blogs :) and I love coffee *and* tea!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

