The Quiet Gentleman

The Quiet GentlemanThe Quiet Gentleman by Georgette Heyer
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A fun read! “The Quiet Gentleman” dragged a little about 2/3 of the way through, but I persevered and was glad I did.

It was Christmas time and I was laid up with the flu. I needed something light and entertaining, but not ‘too’ light. Where have I been? Having just “discovered” Georgette Heyer from reading book review blogs, I am sorely behind the times!

I had of course known about Heyer before, but for some reason categorized her writing as “Regency fluff”. She is not “fluffy”! She does a great job with dialog and characterization, and even though some of her plots are predictable, getting from Point A to Point B in Heyer’s novels is always worth the trip.

The hero of this book, Lord Erth, although coming across as a vain character, is anything but. His wisdom in dealing with envy and avarice and an impetuous younger sibling is fun to watch. The unflappable heroine, Miss Morville, is another character that is worth unwrapping the layers to see if one can discover what really lies underneath.

More of a mystery than a historical romance, the reader is left to discover whom has designs on the Earl’s life and whether he will survive the many ‘accidents’ that befall him since inheriting the large estate from his estranged father. I must confess, the author kept me guessing there for a while as I was a little unsure which character it was that was arranging Martin’s ‘accidents’ so cleverly. However, as it must and always does in this kind of fiction, the truth ‘will out’ as they say, and the ending was a satisfying one.

An enjoyable read!

About Theresa

I live in an old farmhouse in upstate New York (no, *not* the big city!) in the country with my family, two dogs, two calves, and two horses. I love to cross stitch, quilt, read, and look at needlework blogs :) and I love coffee *and* tea!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

