Taking the Challenge in 2014

What do Josephine Tey (mystery writer), Marion Chesney (aka M. C. Beaton), D. E. Stevenson, Dorothy Dunnett (historical fiction), A.J. Cronin (he’s written some of my favorites! one of which is “Shannon’s Way”), Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (EVERYBODY knows HIM : ),  Kenneth Grahame (of “Wind in the Willows” fame), George MacDonald (novelist), Alexander McCall Smith, and Thomas Hardy (classics) all have in common?

Don’t know?

Well, if you take a look at Peggy Ann’s blog, you will know!

Peggy Ann has issued a challenge for 2014 and, considering that these authors have written some of my all-time favorites, I am joining!

I have decided to do the “Hebridean” level, because there are so many authors on the list Peggy Ann links that I love.

I am looking forward to re-reading several old favorites, and discovering some new ones.  2014 is going to be a great year!  hope you join, too.  : )

About Theresa

I live in an old farmhouse in upstate New York (no, *not* the big city!) in the country with my family, two dogs, two calves, and two horses. I love to cross stitch, quilt, read, and look at needlework blogs :) and I love coffee *and* tea!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Taking the Challenge in 2014

  1. Hope Owsley says:

    I never would have figured out the connection between these authors! The challenge sounds interesting since I’ve been wanting to read Sir Walter Scott (intimidating), but already am in love with many of the other authors.

  2. Christina says:

    You should read Josephine Tey’s “The Privateer.” It’s my favorite of hers! Not so much mystery as her others, but very interesting.

  3. I LOVE Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. I read a book called Winter at Death’s Hotel, and it was about him not authored by him. It was good. 🙂 The author was Kenneth Cameron.

    I am not going to participate in the Scotland challenge because I don’t do well with challenges. I do love books set in Scotland, though.

    I have read two in addition to Winter at Death’s Hotel that I really like. They were The Island House by Posie Graeme Evans and Angel Harp by Michael Phillips.

    I am stopping by from Peggy Ann’s list of people participating. You have a nice blog.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog

Leave a Reply

