Library

It’s been a busy week and I’m a little late in posting! A few days ago, we took a trip to the library…

So far… “Mystery Mile” is finished (review to follow!)

Margery Allingham is a favorite mystery writer of mine. This one wasn’t one of her best, but it kept my interest and the ending had enough suspense in it to satisfy the reader. However, if this were my first Allingham, I would probably wait a while (and explore other books), before picking up another. Having already read several of Allingham’s mysteries though, I will continue reading Allingham (“Tiger in the Smoke” is almost considered a ‘classic’ in the mystery genre).

I have been skimming “Code Name Verity” and have to say, I am not in the mood at present for a spy novel this sentimental (keeping in mind the audience it is geared to…since it is YA fiction, perhaps I am being a bit harsh.) I think I am just “WW-2 Literature” filled up right now!

“Leave Me Alone I’m Reading” is a bit of a surprise. I am 2/3 through. The author is a book reviewer, and I expected this book-about-books to be, well, more of a book-review type. Instead it is interspersed with anecdotes and stories from the author’s own life, and her subsequent references/recommendations line up with her own viewpoint. For instance, Dorothy Sayers’ “Gaudy Night”…although I am glad the author has read the novel often (“Gaudy Night is a favorite of mine!), and probably has taught it in her literature classes, I don’t agree that Sayers’ was writing about Harriet Vane from a “Room of Her Own”-all-(or-at-least-most)-women-writers-are-repressed-and-kept-from-their-true-vocations kind of way.

I am writing down several of her recommendations, however, to research, to see if they look like my kind of literature.

My daughter grabbed the Sandra Byrd historical fiction novel (I have never read Byrd but her reviews are satisfactory, so we will see!)

So I am presently working through “Summer at Tiffany’s”, and ready to pick up the newest Alan Bradley (whom I expect will most likely deliver. As always!)

About Theresa

I live in an old farmhouse in upstate New York (no, *not* the big city!) in the country with my family, two dogs, two calves, and two horses. I love to cross stitch, quilt, read, and look at needlework blogs :) and I love coffee *and* tea!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

