Tending Roses

Tending Roses (Tending Roses #1)Tending Roses by Lisa Wingate
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is a book I like to read every few years. So far I have read it three times and I still am not tired of it!

I especially enjoy Grandma Rose’s character. She is real; down-to-earth, not merely a ‘fluffy do-gooder Grandma’ type, but also able to offer stability and advice to her granddaughter, Kate.

The author does not gloss over Grandma Rose’s faults but because they are so realistic (for example, the piles of clutter in her home that she defensively pretends to be ‘normal’ and does not want her family to notice), endear her to the reader all the more.

In a society that more and more devalues the elderly and commitment within marriage, this book has been a refreshing read.

A book that emphasizes the importance of family, relationships, and working through differences, presented in a good story setting.

About Theresa

I live in an old farmhouse in upstate New York (no, *not* the big city!) in the country with my family, two dogs, two calves, and two horses. I love to cross stitch, quilt, read, and look at needlework blogs :) and I love coffee *and* tea!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

