Flavia who?

I Am Half-Sick of Shadows (Flavia De Luce, #4)I Am Half-Sick of Shadows by Alan Bradley
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is a book I am going to read every Christmas!

Flavia de Luce is gutsy. She is smart, she is inventive, she likes to do experiments…and she’s a kid. With human frailties and needs, without a mother, and with older sisters who don’t seem to know the meaning of the word “nurture”, Flavia tugs at the reader’s heart.

The reader wants Flavia to win. Will she be intimidated by the adults in her circle or will she persist in asking questions, seeking answers, and doing experiments in between?

This book is written with imagination and creativity (the skating scene in the dining room really had me going!), and kept me reading, and not just because I wanted to find out how her fireworks display turns out! (very satisfactorily, I will add…)

How Alan Bradley (who is an engineer? can engineers write fiction? not meant to be disrespectful here to the author, since, I KNOW engineers… being married to one!), so cleverly ‘invented’ the quirky characters in this novel, is a mystery in itself!

(Maybe they are relatives).

How he continues to turn out plot after plot and just about makes the reader sit up and beg for the next book, is the real mystery in this series…

but not one I will waste too much time mulling over, as I look and expectantly wait, for the next Flavia book in the series.

About Theresa

I live in an old farmhouse in upstate New York (no, *not* the big city!) in the country with my family, two dogs, two calves, and two horses. I love to cross stitch, quilt, read, and look at needlework blogs :) and I love coffee *and* tea!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

